Chapter 5

Bob led me through the town, keeping a brisk pace. He obviously wanted to get this over with quickly- no point spending too long dealing with someone like me. It didn’t take long to reach our destination- after all, despite my amazement, it wasn’t a big town- and I was taken into a shack, larger than the rest, made off several sheets of plywood and corrugated iron. Inside, Bob discussed how use me with a tallish, thin guy, wearing a hat with the brim pulled down over his eyes and a rather nice coat- stinking and stained, but it had been good before. I looked over the interior, saw that the walls were mostly covered by what looked like carpets and other fabric. Behind one wall I could hear breathing- I’d got used to listening for the minute sounds, things I wouldn’t have noticed in a million years without having to rely on hearing them to survive.

 

“What do you want me to do with him? You said you were understaffed, and if nothing else, he’ll draw fire!” Bob was desperate to get rid of me- it made sense, I was no use to him and if he tried to kill him I could do some damage.

 

“On the other hand, he could get everyone involved killed. You have no idea of who he is, who he’s with, and you just led him right in. What if he’s working for Shewin? You could’ve just fucked us all over, but you didn’t think of that, did you?“Tall dark and skinny seemed to be properly paranoid- all the points he made were fair enough, even if he was off the mark this time. “On the other hand, you’re right. God knows I need someone capable of surviving out there- the recruits we’ve got right now don’t have a clue. You hear that, you damn scavenger? You’re hired.”

 

I didn’t know what to think. On the one hand, there was a better chance of surviving here than above ground, but on the other hand I didn’t like the sound of what Tall dark and skinny was saying- it sounded like he was running a war, and I wanted no part in it. Not that I was a pacifist- if I was I’d be dead- but I didn’t want to be on an actual battlefield. God knows that’s the worst place to be when you want to survive, if He even exists.

 

I was led to a room towards the beck of the shack, partitioned by a fabric wall. Behind there were several people, all bigger- and better fed- than me. On the other hand, they were also a lot cleaner- normally a good thing, but a death warrant when you’re being hunted by a pack of animals with a great sense of smell..I was beginning to see why they were taking the risk of keeping me- while they may be strong and fast enough to survive, there were a million little tricks that they needed to know, or they’d be dead in short order.

 

“Right. This pitiful specimen has been living above ground. He has survived above ground, and he will tell you how to survive above ground. He will be coming with you, and he will help you where necessary. If he does not, you may kill him- He is useless unless he is helping you, and worse, he may betray you. You will not tell him anything compromising. You will not let him out of your sight. Other than that, you will trust him.” TPS seemed to have watched too many military dramas, playing the role of Drill Sergeant Nasty to a tee. On the other hand, it seemed like a sensible, if psychotic, precaution to take- I couldn’t escape without getting killed unless I came up with something really spectacular.

 

On the other hand, these people needed my help. If I did leave them to it, they’d almost definitely die, and I’d be responsible.

 

“Hey newbie. Who are you, anyway?” One of them, a woman in her late teens, early 20s spoke up, breaking the awkward silence.

 

“Adam. If you don’t mind me asking, what’s happening? I didn’t even know this place existed this morning, and no-one’s been keen to talk since then.”

Leave a comment